Case Closed Book 1

Jimmy Kudo, high school junior, idolizes Sherlock Holmes and solves mysteries for the police department in this manga action comedy. After trailing bad guys to a mysterious meeting, he’s knocked out and poisoned. Although the villains meant to kill him, they instead turn him physically into a six-year-old boy.

Case Closed Book 1 cover
Case Closed Book 1
Buy this book

He winds up working with an incompetent private investigator, the father of the girl he has a crush on, while a mad scientist tries to turn him back to normal. (Supposedly. Although in later books he keeps giving Jimmy cool spy toys, he doesn’t seem to make much progress… because he can’t disturb the book’s premise.) Their first case involves the kidnapping of a businessman’s daughter, and Jimmy’s biggest challenge is to present his deductions in a way that the adults will listen to.

The big-headed little Jimmy is very cute, and similar exaggeration is used to establish the other characters and their motivations. Jimmy has a hard time getting used to his smaller, weaker body, but he makes up for the lack with clever improvisation, like riding a Great Dane to the rescue.

Jimmy was used to doing things on his own, but as a kid, he must adapt to asking for help. The only plus comes when Rachel, his crush, unknowingly confides her feelings for the older Jimmy to the younger. When Jimmy solves a second case, involving a young pop star with a stalker, by throwing his voice and pretending to be Rachel’s father, that deception sets the tone for future volumes.

6 Comments

  1. [From a review of Book 3:] There’s more information available at the publisher’s website. I previously reviewed Book 1. [...]

  2. [From a review of Book 11:] More information is available at the publisher’s website. I have previously reviewed Book 1 and Book 3. [...]

  3. [...] Slave Labor collects webcomic Agnes Quill (AUG06 2936, $10.95), written by Dave Roman (Quicken Forbidden), about a teenage detective in a ghost-ridden city. Slave Labor has posted preview pages. Sounds like it’ll be great for fans of Nancy Drew or Case Closed. [...]

  4. you have to read this book before all of the others in this series- you will get lost- it’s that complicated.

  5. [...] earlier books in the series — which included such titles as Prince of Tennis, Crimson Hero, Case Closed, Phoenix, and Drifting Classroom — they’d have to get them [...]

  6. I watch the Case Closed series, Dubbed, and enjoy it thoroughly.

Leave a Reply

Comments are closed.