Courtney Crumrin and the Night Things

Courtney and her parents have moved into a creepy old mansion to live with her uncle. Her parents are vapid social climbers who are too stupid to realize that everyone sees through their transparent schemes. Her classmates are sadists concerned only with themselves, their money, and their standing. Her house and town are haunted by odd beasties, like werewolves and goblins. Her life, in short, stinks, and she’s the only one who’s willing to do anything about it.

Courtney Crumrin and the Night Things cover
Courtney Crumrin
and the Night Things
Buy this book

The viewpoint here is fresh and funny while keeping its edge. There aren’t any fairy godmothers or sudden happy endings, because nobody’s on her side, not her relatives, her teachers, or the magical creatures. Courtney has to make her own way using her initiative and brains. It would be nice if she didn’t have to take so much responsibility at such a young age, but no one here is pure and innocent, and she’s learning valuable life lessons.

Naifeh’s art style is cute in a dark kind of way, well-suited to the edgy fantasy. He’s capable of drawing well both kinds of monsters, the traditional and the human, capturing their essential qualities. The characters aren’t safe and cuddly, and Courtney’s doll-like button eyes belie the intelligence within. Whether getting the school bullies to leave her alone, learning the benefits of anonymity, or discovering that the neighborhood demon child is really a changeling, Courtney is a modern-day heroine, winning the day in a challenging world.

There are two sequels: Courtney Crumrin and the Coven of Mystics and Courtney Crumrin in the Twilight Kingdom. Ted Naifeh has a website. Naifeh has also created How Loathsome, a more adult-targeted graphic novel.

Similar Posts: Courtney Crumrin #1 § Courtney Crumrin #2 § Courtney Crumrin and the Prince of Nowhere § Courtney Crumrin Tales #2: The League of Ordinary Gentlemen § Recent Oni Graphic Novels: Play Ball, Courtney Crumrin, Avalon Chronicles


8 Responses to “Courtney Crumrin and the Night Things”

  1. Print or Online, Your Choice: Duel, Rook City, Hereville » Comics Worth Reading Says:

    [...] describes his series as a quirky fantasy adventure comic for fans of Bone or Courtney Crumrin — I’d add Amy Unbounded to that list as well. I reviewed the CBZ version, and I found [...]

  2. The Good Neighbors Book One: Kin » Comics Worth Reading Says:

    [...] a huge fan of Ted Naifeh’s art. The Courtney Crumrin series is one of the few non-manga books that I collect. He’s the perfect choice for this [...]

  3. Courtney Crumrin and the Prince of Nowhere » Comics Worth Reading Says:

    [...] Courtney Crumrin stories really make me wonder. She’s such an odd little character, a girl with no friends and [...]

  4. Controversy LinkBlogging » Comics Worth Reading Says:

    [...] when I thought I was done with superheroes, I saw the news that Ted Naifeh (Courtney Crumrin, The Good Neighbors) will be drawing a Teen Titans backup. That’s not enough, by itself, to [...]

  5. Mouse Guard Spins off Legends of the Guard » Comics Worth Reading Says:

    [...] include stories by Jeremy Bastian (Cursed Pirate Girl), Alex Shiekman (Robotika), and Ted Naifeh (Courtney Crumrin). The connecting conceit is that Guard Mice at a tavern are telling tales to outdo one another. [...]

  6. Courtney Crumrin Tales #2: The League of Ordinary Gentlemen » Comics Worth Reading Says:

    [...] we first met Courtney, her uncle Aloysius was a grumpy old magician, locked away from the world. In this series, [...]

  7. Courtney Crumrin #1 » Comics Worth Reading Says:

    [...] so checking out this new series launch (in color!) was a welcome reminder of how much I enjoy the adventures of the … what do we call her? Monster fighter? Young witch? Sorcerer in training? Anyway, her [...]

  8. Recent Oni Graphic Novels: Play Ball, Courtney Crumrin, Avalon Chronicles » Comics Worth Reading Says:

    [...] of color, the upgraded hardcover re-release of the first volume of Ted Naifeh’s series looks terrific. Great timing, too, since I was curious to reread these stories after the launch of [...]

Leave a Comment

Subscribe to comment feed.




Categories:

Pages:



Meta:

Most Recent Posts: