Friends of Lulu Awards Voting Open

This is the first year Friends of Lulu has allowed open public nominations and voting and the ballot is now posted. Deadline is June 30. Nominees are:

Women Cartoonists Hall of Fame
Colleen Doran (Illustrator: The Book of Lost Souls, Marvel; Lucifer, DC/Vertigo)
Lily Renee Phillips (Illustrator: The Lost World; Werewolf Hunters, Fiction House)
Donna Barr (The Desert Peach; Stinz)

Lulu of the Year
Alison Bechdel (Fun Home; Dykes to Watch Out For)
Abby Denson (Tough Love: High School Confidential, Manic D Press)
Donna Barr (The Desert Peach; Stinz)

Kim Yale Award for Best New Female Talent
Rachel Nabors (Crow Princess; Rachel the Great)
June Kim (12 Days, Tokyo Pop)
Rivkah (Steady Beat, Tokyo Pop)
Joelle Jones (12 Reasons Why I Love Her, Oni Press)

Women of Distinction Award
Jennifer de Guzman (Editor, Slave Labor Graphics)
Joan Hilty (Editor, DC Kids Line)
Karen Berger (Sr. VP, DC/Vertigo)

2 Responses to “Friends of Lulu Awards Voting Open”

  1. Carol/Klio Says:

    I’m glad to see Donna Barr on the ballot (twice!). After such a long career, she deserves the recognition.

    Plus, I just adore “Desert Peach.”

  2. Donna Barr Says:

    THANK you. Somebody better recognize Roberta Gregory, too. She’s been in this even longer than I have, and we both scare the hell out of a lot of readers. Is there a Scsry Old Comics Broad award?




Most Recent Posts: