Nancy Drew: The Demon of River Heights

This graphic novel take on the classic detective heroine opens with Nancy, her boyfriend Ned, and her best friends George and Bess making a monster movie. George is technologically savvy, while Bess is boy-crazy. Conveniently, that leads the three into a mystery, as the other students Bess was flirting with have disappeared.

The girls set off to find out what happened. While following their trail through the woods, the three come face-to-face with a bear in one of the action sequences that pepper the book. There’s also a crooked financier to deal with and the over-arching question of whether there’s a real monster attacking people. Are the students really missing, or are they just staging a publicity stunt to start rumors and promote their film? This plot is well-suited to writer Stefan Petrucha, who got lots of practice with similar questions writing X-Files comics.

Nancy Drew: The Demon of River Heights cover
Nancy Drew: The
Demon of River Heights
Buy this book

The art by Sho Murase has a distinctive look, with sketchy figures against photo-manipulated backgrounds, and the girls look like teenagers, with delicate features and flowing hair. The number of night scenes means lots of suspense-filled dark pages, which I found sometimes hard to read.

The reader has to be willing to play along, or some of the elements may seem a bit too contrived. Nancy’s a good detective, for example, observant of small clues, but she’s also so absent-minded that she can’t get away from a threat because she keeps forgetting to put gas in her car. Her drive to investigate also leads her to jump into dangerous situations before thinking.

Older readers might find the reliance on coincidence too predictable, but younger ones will likely get lost in the adventure. For them, Nancy and her friends are cool in the way they do outrageous things light-heartedly.

Similar Posts: Nancy Drew § Nancy Drew in Supermarkets § Quick News Bits: Nancy Drew, TCAF, Morrison Book § Viz Bringing Monster Back Into Print § Inubaka: Crazy for Dogs Book 10


6 Responses to “Nancy Drew: The Demon of River Heights”

  1. Comics Worth Reading Says:

    [...] That’s a lot of graphic novels in kids’ hands — if this was a periodical, it would easily rank in the top 20. (Of course, it’s easier to sell larger numbers when you’re not out-of-date after a week or a month.) I reviewed the first volume. [...]

  2. Comics Worth Reading Says:

    [...] Slave Labor collects webcomic Agnes Quill (AUG06 2936, $10.95), written by Dave Roman (Quicken Forbidden), about a teenage detective in a ghost-ridden city. Slave Labor has posted preview pages. Sounds like it’ll be great for fans of Nancy Drew or Case Closed. [...]

  3. Quick News Bits: Nancy Drew, TCAF, Morrison Book » Comics Worth Reading Says:

    [...] the publisher of the Nancy Drew graphic novels, is hosting an online contest tied into the [...]

  4. Michelle Says:

    where can we read the comics???

  5. Johanna Says:

    You can order them from Amazon using the link above or try your local library or comic book store.

  6. Andi Watson’s 15 Love to Finally Be Published, Eight Years Later » Comics Worth Reading Says:

    [...] cover, shown here, is by Sho Murase, who illustrated some of the Nancy Drew graphic novel adaptations. I’m not sure how attractive that navel-bearing shot will be to the [...]

Leave a Comment

Subscribe to comment feed.




Categories:

Pages:



Meta:

Most Recent Posts: