Harvey Awards Radically Streamline at New Location

The Harvey Awards

After taking off 2017 to get settled at their new host convention, the New York Comic Con, now comes word that the Harvey Awards will be radically revamped for 2018.

The Harvey Awards were started in 1988 and named after Harvey Kurtzman. Last year, if I counted correctly, there were 22 categories. Now, there are six, recognizing graphic novels (and one for media adaptations, sadly), and three creator awards, which are more career-based than focused on work in a particular year.

The Harvey Awards

Book of the Year: Best long-form graphic novel or collection demonstrating excellence in writing, art, or cartooning showcasing great representation of the form

Digital Book of the Year: Best comic or collection originally presented in a digital format

Best Children or Young Adult Book: Best long-form original graphic novel or collection presented for younger audiences

Best Adaptation from Comic Book/Graphic Novel: Best adaptation to another medium of a work originally presented as a graphic novel, trade collection, or comic book

Best Manga: Best single manga of the year translated into English

Best European Book: Best European material translated into English

Previously, the ballot was created by nominations from comic book professionals, which made it easy to stuff the ballot box. Now, nominees will be “selected by a handpicked committee of diverse industry voices comprised of creators, press, publishing professionals, and more” (no specifics or names given).

Voting is “open to those working in the comics industry”. Pros who have been approved for a pro or artist alley badge at a ReedPop event since 2016 are automatically eligible. Those in other categories — academics, librarians, retailers, publisher staff, or creators that don’t go to big conventions — can apply at the new award website. Right now that means signing up for their newsletter, since they aren’t opening the process until after the nominees are announced on August 1.

Eligibility to vote will be left up to the sole discretion of ReedPOP and the Harvey Awards Executive Committee. All application decisions are final.

(I hope this process goes better than the pro badge selection for this year’s New York Comic Con, which turned down a number of people who should have been eligible.)

A handful of Special Awards will be presented to individuals as chosen by the Harvey Awards Executive Committee (chaired by Nellie Kurtzman, Harvey’s daughter, and including John Lind and Chip Mosher):

Harvey Kurtzman Award for Humor: Special Award for satire in comic books, graphic novels, comic strips (digital or print) that embodies the spirit of Harvey Kurtzman

Harvey Hall of Fame Award: Honoring creators who have had a distinguished career or impact on the medium for over two decades

International Spotlight Award: Presented to a creator whose work originates outside the United States that has had an impact on the medium

Nominees will be announced on August 1, and voting concludes on August 23, with winners announced at a ceremony held Saturday, October 6 at NYCC.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *